Employee Spotlight – Brian Pekarek, WebDev Team Lead

Welcome to our Employee Spotlight blog series – Each month we feature a Q&A from one of our top employees at Centermark by Web.com. 

This month we are featuring Brian Pekarek, WebDev Team Lead.

brianp-nov16

Where did you grow up? What was the experience like?

I grew up in North Jersey until I transferred out to finish my college degree in North Carolina. I got my associates degree in Business Administration at County College of Morris and my Computer Science degree at UNCP. I played soccer throughout my college career. It was one of my favorite experiences because we had to train hard, play hard, while having a great time. I built some lifelong friends.

What drew you to work at Centermark by Web.com?

My favorite thing is the culture. We never face the same challenges on a daily basis and we work hard together as a team to get things done. Everyone has a winning and can-do attitude that helps us all get things done.

What is your favorite part of being a Manager?

My favorite thing about being a manager is giving my employees the opportunity to grow as much as they can. I like to give them opportunities to improve their presentation skills and lead projects. These are skills that you can learn and use it later on in life.  

What is a quality you appreciate in an employee or colleague?

The quality I appreciate the most in an employee is a can-do attitude. We get random situations pushed on us daily and somebody that just jumps in and takes it head on is someone I really do appreciate.

What are your hobbies? What do you do for fun?

My hobbies include traveling, hiking,  eating random food, and local brewery hopping around CLT. We have a great scene here and I love this city! Very dog friendly!

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?

 My next place on my list is to go to the Great Wall of China, spend a week in their culture, and enjoy some of their local food.

If you had a time machine and could go on 1 trip to the past or the future, where would you go and why?

I would go into the future. Write down a bunch of notes and then freak people out when I am right about every football game stat or new trends before they even come out.

Leave a comment